T E M P O A R T energizes Portland’s public spaces through temporary art installations—engaging residents and visitors, enriching its creative community and enhancing Portland’s reputation as a world-class city.  

W E  P R O V I D E opportunities for artists to experiment with new mediums, highlight current issues and engage a wide public audience.  

W E  P A R T N E R with other non-profit educational and cultural institutions, using each project to inspire innovative learning opportunities for all ages.



Administrative Director | Jenny McGee Dougherty is a Portland based visual artist, educator and arts administrator. She holds a BFA in Printmaking from Maine College of Art and served as the Associate Director of SPACE Gallery from 2010-2014. She continues to curate visual arts programs and lead youth arts workshops, while also creating large scale public murals, most recently as part of the 2018 Portland Museum of Art Biennial. She is represented by the Los Angeles based platform Tappan Collective and shows her paintings and textile designs internationally.


Board of Directors

Victoria Bonebakker has lived in Portland since 1988. She practiced law in California before coming to Maine, where she changed careers and became a nonprofit executive, first as director of the Maine Collaborative for Education in the Arts & Humanities and then, following a merger with the Maine Humanities Council, associate director of the Council. She retired in 2011. Victoria has been on the board of organizations that support and benefit Portland for over two decades, including the YWCA, Greater Portland Landmarks, the Portland Public Library, and now TEMPOart.


Sarah Daignault spent 12 years as the Executive Director of the National Business Officers Association (NBOA), an association dedicated to serving independent school business officer by providing professional development and information on independent schools finance and operations. Prior to founding NBOA, Sarah spent five years as the Business Officer at Friends School of Baltimore and four years as the Business Manager at Bryn Mawr School for Girls. Sarah was also an instructor at the Klingenstein Center at Teachers College, Columbia University in New York City. She worked with Private School Leadership Masters’ candidates in the area of school finance. She also had a consulting practice working with schools and associations in the areas of operations, finance and governance. In addition to her experience in school finance and operations, she has extensive governance experience. During her 19 year tenure on the Board of Directors of the Madeira School in Virginia, Sarah was the President of the Board for eight years. She also chaired the Capital Campaign for five years and the Head Search process. She served on the Boards of the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS), the National Coalition of Girls’ Schools (NCGS) and the Association of Independent School Admission Professionals (AISAP). She has also served on three other independent schools boards. Since moving to Maine she joined the Board of the Locker Project where she currently serves as Treasurer.


Soren deNiord has been practicing in the field of Landscape Architecture for 14 years. He has a Master’s Degree in Landscape Architecture from the University of Virginia and a Bachelor of Science in Sustainable Development with a minor in printmaking from Hampshire College. Soren has worked extensively throughout the United States and abroad on projects ranging in scale from residential design to sculpture gardens and educational master planning. His background in land-use policy and fine arts strongly informs his design sensibilities and creative problem-solving.


Will Garcia is a creative at the VIA Agency, where he has created campaigns for brands such as T. Rowe Price, Arm & Hammer and L.L.Bean. He resides in Portland, ME.




Alice Spencer is a painter and printmaker and served for 15 years on the Portland Public Art Committee. She has served on the MECA Board and taught printmaking at the Haystack School of Crafts and MECA’s Continuing Studies Program, as well as abroad. She chaired the committee that wrote guidelines for temporary public art in the City of Portland and serves on its review committee.


Dick Spencer Dick Spencer is an attorney with Drummund Woodsom and MacMahon in Portland specializing in land conservation, municipal law and public finance. He served in the state legislature where chaired the House Judiciary Committee. Dick is a founder of Portland Trails and the Rangeley Lakes Heritage Trust.


Chris Stiegler, Chair of MFA in Studio Art at the Maine College of Art, is an art historian and curator who founded the projects Town Hall Meeting and the Institute for American Art. Town Hall Meeting was a collaborative effort that produced symposiums, museum tours, and lectures. Institute for American Art is a curatorial project that situates works of art and objects of culture within a residential setting. The museum tries to foster prolonged engagement with the audience by accompanying exhibitions with associated film screenings, public readings, and other events. As an educator he has focused on historiography, criticism of the contemporary, and 20th century art history. Chris holds BAs in Art History as well as Printmaking from the University of Delaware, and a Master of Modern Art in Connoisseurship and Market History, from Christie’s Education.


Kathryn Yates returned to Portland in 2010 via her hometown of Toronto and after almost 20 years in Chicago. In Toronto, she ran UNUM Canada’s operations for five years and while in Chicago ran the Communication and Change Management Practice for a large global consulting firm. She retired in 2016. Since returning to Portland she has been able to focus on her love of the environment and the arts. She joined the Board of Trustees of the Maine College of Art as well as TEMPOart and is often seen exploring the beauty of the state from the seat of her bicycle.

Advisory Board

James Brady

Christopher Branson

George N. Campbell, Jr

Cyrus Hagge

Alison Hildreth

Pandora LaCasse

Ann Willauer

Caron Zand

Committee Members

Elizabeth Baribeau

Rachel Harkness

Catherine Hyde

Abby Johnston

Justin Levesque